More About the Programme

Our Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Engineering) provides you with a solid theoretical and intensive practical foundation in the basics of one programming language and one database language, where the emphasis is on application. You will develop a balance of software and hardware knowledge as well as extensive technical experience. The core subject areas are Programming Language, Network+, Security+ and Introduction to Virtualisation . You also cover topics such as general Computer Literacy, Processing and Logic. Throughout the qualification you will complete technical projects so that you are able to troubleshoot problems.

We attribute much of the success of our Higher Certificate programmes in Information Systems (IS), to our unique Mastery Learning Methodology (MLM). This modular self-directed learning approach gives you the flexibility to start and progress at a pace that best suits you.

You will develop essential skills for the world of work, especially for the IT industry, such as analysing and solving real problems, logical and innovative thinking, working in teams and communicating effectively.

No travel required

1st Monday of month

Pay per module

Fully supported

Work and learn

Admission requirements

National Senior Certificate (NSC) with diploma or certificate entry or an equivalent foreign secondary qualification on an NSC level confirmed by SAQA.

National Certificate (Vocational) level four issued by the Council of General and Further Education and Training.

You must have obtained the required results in the Placement Assessment.


Computer Literacy

Personal Skills Development

Processing and Logic Concepts

Program Design

Hardware Essentials

Software Engineering

Database Design Concepts

Database Management

Programming Language > Java or C#

Network+ Preparation

Security+ Preparation

Introduction to Virtualisation

Final Practical Exam